ANNI PENG Co-Founder/Creator of unisex concept store BROKE BITCH

25 copy

Anni Peng and her husband were sick of the gender roles that we are forced to live under from birth. So in April of 2014 they created the BKBT Concept store to knock down societies rules and expectations. They claim to be one of the few businesses that enforce unisex fashion and I can believe it. Most stores in person and their websites still have the typical “guys only” “girls only” sections. Their mission is to “create a shopping experience where people would shop freely, and we believe that social norms cannot determine our gender roles, primarily, the way we dress. We believe in gender-neutral roles.”

12-LACED FISHTAIL PARKA-brokebitch-unisex-fashion

Along with learning more about her work, I asked her a few questions about herself personally to learn more about the rad person behind the influential brand.

Here’s her short bio:

PENG: I graduated from The University of Oregon 2013, majoring in neuropsychology and philosophy.
Fashion and business have always been my passion, so my husband and I started BKBT Concept (Broke Bitch) in April, 2014. We’ve been growing the business as of late, I am the creative director, helping establish the aesthetic of the store and shopping experience on our site

What’s everything you do for a living these days?

PENG: I am the Co-founder and Creative Director at BKBT Concept full time.

How would you describe your personal style?

PENGI don’t really try to put myself in any category, I dress for my inner feelings and for my soul, not particularly for particular person or societal group. I definitely prefer the dark silhouette/goth style.
I started dressing like that at around 15/16 years of age. I was even in a goth band! Haha.

Since you were in a goth band, are you still involved with music in any way? I just find all of this so cool. 8 copy

PENG: I am currently not involved in any music, because the business schedule can get really crazy sometimes! However, if I have a chance in the future, I would continue!

What kind of things inspire you with your fashion?

PENG: Ann Demeulemeester and Rick Owens are my muses. I was also heavily influenced from X-japan, Malice Mizer when I was a teenager. Haha.

4

“BKBT Concept regularly blurs the boundaries between genders, we want to provide a fit in our clothing that allows the consumer to express themselves without limitations.”

2

You know another cool thing I forgot to mention about Broke Bitch? They show a diversity in models. All of this is taking a step forward in the right direction. I hope for big things for Anni and her husband with this and their projects.

You can find them on their store’s website: bkbtconcept.com

Their twitter: bkbtconcept

Anni’s instagram: pimp_ap

Anni’s website: AnniPeng.com

1

One thought on “ANNI PENG Co-Founder/Creator of unisex concept store BROKE BITCH

Leave a Reply

