Goth/Alt people from around the world #2: Cynthia

tunic

How old are you?
26.

Where are you from?
Oklahoma.

Describe your style.
It’s pretty diverse. My style runs from classic mori fashion with tons of lace and ruffles, to strega/dark mori with all sorts of dark layers and textures, to romantic gothic fashions with velvets, lace and fishnet, to classic minimalism. It depends on my mood that day. If I had to pick one style to define me, it would be a gothic-leaning strega style that I dubbed “shadow strega” when all of us on Tumblr were in the spirit of labeling our personal “substrega” styles a while back.

How did you discover mori kei/dark mori fashion?

getting dressedI think I must have seen pictures on Tumblr, but I didn’t know what it was or where it came from. Eventually one user I follow used the “mori girl” tag, and I had a word for what I was so drawn to. As I researched mori and dark mori online I found that they fit my personality perfectly.

scary dress Where are you favorite places to shop for your style? Or do you make your own clothing? 
I prefer to shop at thrift stores, but small boutiques are often a good source for ultra feminine, frilly clothes. Really, suitable clothing can be found anywhere as long as you know what to look for. I like the idea of making clothing and I do sometimes alter clothes I find, but I’m not good enough at sewing to make it much of a habit!

Who/what are your influences?
I’m influenced by concepts or general aesthetics more than people or characters. Antiques; the Victorian era; the 1920s; nature; witchcraft; divination; literature in the gothic, surreal horror, mystery and fantasy genres; Tim Burton; Guillermo Del Toro; Neil Gaiman; dark music (especially dark ambient); Alice in Wonderland; The Secret Garden; Silent Hill; Halloween; haunted houses and other such nonsense all influence my style as I attempt to channel them into the medium of fashion. Also, I really like Stevie Nicks’s style!

Stone LionWhat does your fashion taste say about you?
I think it reflects my experimental and curious nature, and as a pagan witch it’s also an outward expression of my religious and lifestyle practices. I would describe myself as whimsical, and my style tends to show that, I think. I’ve had an urge to dress like either a fairy tale heroine or a witch since I was a kid, and I finally have a socially acceptable outlet for that.

A thank you to Cynthia for her participation!
Do you have a cool goth or Japanese inspired style you would like to show off on Night Fever King? If so, please send an email to nightfeverking@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

