Goth/Alt People From Around The World #1: Victorian/Gothic Lolita Anna Hako

Here is the first article of a series I’ll be posting often (along with my regular posts)that are submissions celebrating and showing off the creative and impressive Goths and all other kinds of Alternative people from around the world! This is Anna.

IMG_1926 2

How old are you?
I’m 24.

Where are you from?
Helsinki, Finland but I’ve lived in the US, the UK, and Germany as well.

Describe your style.
It’s a mixture of Victorian goth, corp goth, and gothic lolita. In my daily life, comfort is more important than looks – especially since I’m a milliner and work with small embellishment, chemicals and paints all the time – so I am sadly dressed down quite often. But when I get the chance to dress up, I go all the way. Which style dominates the look that day depends on my mood. I have a few medical reasons which stop me from getting piercings or tattoos and restrict dyeing my hair so some times I feel that I’m not able to express myself fully. It is something I have learned to live with but it has definitely been a factor in the direction my style has taken.
DSC_0829 3 pieni 2

How did you become interested in your style of fashion?
I had a friend who asked me if she could style me as a rock chick back in the 8th grade. She wanted to do it just to shock everybody, but I found myself really liking the alternative look so I stuck with it and the style started to evolve. I started out looking much more cyber goth than I am now!

Where are you favorite places to shop for your style? Or do you make your own clothing?
I make my own headpieces as that is my craft, but most of my clothes are thrifted. I go to a lot of second hand stores and recycling centers because they’re cheap and I want to support recycling. I like giving clothes a new life, so sometimes I modify the old ones I find to suit my look. I don’t shop at “real” stores much, though I do visit the alternative stores in Helsinki every now and then. When I’m in London, I explore Camden Market and stop by stores like TK Maxx when I get the chance.

Who/what are your influences?
History, music, literature, and other goths, mostly. I’m quite fond of things that are elegant and cute yet macabre, which is why I think Victorian mourning fashion and the music of The Birthday Massacre have such an impact on me. On top of mourning fashion, I enjoy the lighter side of historical fashion, such as rococo, and places like Victoria and Albert Museum in London are a great source of inspiration for me.
It’s such a cliché, but I’m also really inspired by the death; I could probably live at an old cemetery and I could never have too many skeleton items. I think the whole goth scene is very inspiring as well, it’s impossible to look at all the diversity and talent and not be influenced by them!

IMG_1196 3

What does your fashion taste say about you?

It definitely makes people think I’m “dark” – whether that is positive or negative is another thing. I hope my fashion taste gives some clues about the things I enjoy and I hope it also conveys who I am as a designer. I think the “sweet yet macabre” influence shines through clearly. I am quite open about my “un-goth” likes as well, so people who think they have me figured out are often surprised to learn that I’m not all cemeteries and goth rock.
It’s a shame there is a lot of misinformation about goths because people seem to make negative or otherwise incorrect assumptions very quickly. I hope I can change that when people actually get to know me.

Do you have a cool goth or Japanese inspired style you would like to show off on Night Fever King? If so, please send an email to nightfeverking@gmail.com.

66708_10151810576402990_1679031013_nYou can find Anna on her Tumblr right here.
Much thanks to her for her participation!

One thought on “Goth/Alt People From Around The World #1: Victorian/Gothic Lolita Anna Hako

Leave a Reply

