Strange EXCLUSIVE artistry at an art festival

After going through a tough time in my life lately, I thought a great idea would be to hit up a downtown arts fest, called the Texas Avenue Makers Fair, in northwest Louisiana. Art festivals of all kinds can be tremendous inspirations. I grabbed my camera and notepad and went on the look out for alternative and bizarre but talented art work and individuals.

IMG_5600

The first booth that caught my eye was the dark, horror themed art work of Mad Molly.  She had many paintings and sketches out.

IMG_5597

IMG_5596

IMG_5599                                      I immediately had to talk to her and learn more about her work.

IMG_5598            She gave me a free print of the middle sketch and of course I asked her to sign it. She was very sweet. You can also reach her at madmolly666@gmail.com

When I left I ran into another interesting individual with bright purple hair named, Ashley Griffin, who runs LipstickKitten.  Her artwork is inspired by a plethora of things:  Nightvale, Anime, Rocky Horror Show, and lots more.

IMG_5590

IMG_5593

She showed me a big book of her prints, which featured bearded pin-ups and even Elvira: Mistress of the Dark.
IMG_5588IMG_5591

IMG_5592                                                               Frank N Furter tote bag

Pillows, prints, tote bags, buttons, clips, she makes an excessive amount of things. You can reach her at her etsy, tumblr, and facebook. You’re definitely going to find something you enjoy.

Click the read more for extras! 

IMG_5569

               One booth that caught my eye was a small one called Burning Corazon run by Conchita Iglesias-McElwee.
IMG_5567IMG_5568

I absolutely loved these book ends she made, especially the one with the baby dolls parts.

IMG_5570IMG_5571

I wasn’t able to get much of her work, but her art mostly focuses on Dia De Los Muertos style and neat religious imagery.

IMG_5619
(Conchita Iglesias-McElwee’s business card)

If that style is what you’re into then I would recommend you checking out her Etsy right here or her facebook.

IMG_5606

Cookie Dubois Clothing was a vendor I really adored. Her heavily influenced by the Hollywood glam era of the 1940’s and 1950’s creations knew how to draw people in.
IMG_5610IMG_5608IMG_5609

For anyone interested in old Hollywood glam, I urge you to check out her facebook.    


  Other awesome stores were Zombee Candle. They had exotic scents influenced by witch craft themes.
IMG_5576
IMG_5573

A tattoo shop, that also specializes in art and photography, Voodoux Tattoux, were selling kickass paintings made by the owners.
IMG_5582 IMG_5581 IMG_5580    Aw yes, Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas!

Last store was Factory Gurlz Productions, LLC, Their work specializes in 50’s-60’s culture, but I did see some Dia De Los Muertos works.
IMG_5577 IMG_5578 IMG_5579I wanted to buy everything…

I hope I’m able to document more events for you all soon! Until then, stay groovy.

4 thoughts on “Strange EXCLUSIVE artistry at an art festival

Leave a Reply

